Skip to content

You’re Beautiful Episode 2

October 9, 2009

YB_ep2How refreshing!

I was fully expecting the Prince Coffee storyline but I’m happy to report that we have movement in the “HE’S A SHE!” front.  It looks like she’ll be having her coming out party much sooner than I anticipated.  I just love it when I’m pleasantly surprised with a storyline.

Park Shin Hye continues to impress as a naive nun-to-be playing her idol hopeful twin brother.  I especially like the way she talks, in her matter-of-fact polite tone.  I found her exchange at the practice room with Tae Kyung endearing.  He walks up to her looking like he’s going to beat her up and she says, “Hwang Tae Kyung ssi.  It’s been a long time.  It’s good to see you.”  Very cute.

I was hoping for some better use of music in episode 2 but it was pretty much standard let’s keep playing the same 3 songs over and over again just to get in some background music.  I love being able to think about a certain scene or feeling when listening to a song from a drama.  (For example, “Two Hands” from Que Sera, Sera is a favorite of mine. It really does a good job of capturing the essence of the drama for me without being overplayed.)  I was hoping for the same here but I’m not sure if any of these songs will make it into my ipod.

The other thing that bothers me a bit is the excessive close up shots throughout the series.  Thankfully, I’m watching on a 14″ screen so it doesn’t make too much impact.  I’m trying to get over this little detail because I’m enjoying the series but I may have to vent about this from time to time.

YB_Closeup1YB_Closeup2YB_Closeup3YB_Closeup4

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

