Skip to content

Interview of the You’re Beautiful cast

October 13, 2009

YB_Cast

The cast of You’re beautiful recently had an interview with 10 Asia.  (They do great interviews.) Here’s the translation of the interview.  Wednesday can’t come fast enough.  I’m already looking forward to it.  Enjoy!

The drama “You’re Beautiful” which started last week, will be the “youngest” drama on air.  Between the 4 main leads, Jang Geun Suk – oldest born in 1987, Jung Yong Hwa – born 1989, while Park Shin Hye and Lee Hong Ki – both 1990, the average age is 21.  But it’s the young who can really bring the animated script of the Hong sisters alive.  As the story of the nation’s top idol group, A.N.JELL and a girl who has to become a boy through a dire situation, gains interest, we were able to meet up with the stars of the show after their shooting at the SBS Ilsan location.  Here’s the interview, without embelishment, without evasion, of the A.N.JELLs:  Go Mi Nam (Park Shin Hye), Hwang Tae Kyung (Jang Geun Suk), Jeremy (Lee Hong Ki), and Kang Shin Woo (Jung Yong Hwa).

Q: What’s today’s filming about?
JGS:   It’s showing A.N.JELL’s debut stage.  While watching, Mi Nam tell them that Tae Kyung looked the most handsome and stylish.  Upon hearing this, Tae Kyung changes his hair style.  I’m not sure if the scene is showing him falling in love or if it’s just the writers not liking Tae Kyung’s current hair style.  (Laughing)

Q: Episodes 1 and 2 aired last.  How did you feel?
PSH: There was good response so I felt good.  Because You’re Beautiful is a new style of drama, some said they couldn’t adjust, and others said it was entertaining.  They were both what we expected to hear.  But after watching ep2, we think many viewers have accepted us.  At first, I heard a lot of comments that I was too girly to play a boy character.  But I think Yoon Eun Hye in Coffee Prince and Moon Geun Young in Painter of the Wind both played characters who were normally tomboyish and easy going as a girl, compared to Mi Nyu who is a very feminine girl.  If she becomes too boyish even when she plays a man, we thought her character would disappear too much.  So after discussing with the director and writers, we decided to keep her feminine character throughout.

YB_10Asia_PSHYB_10Asia_JGS

Q:  Mi Nyu’s way of speaking is fun to watch.  It’s so unique that it can seem awkward.  But you also like it more every time you hear it.  How did this come about?
PSH:  When girls try to imitate a boy’s speech, it’s usually “Yo, what’s up?” (Loose translation.)  But Mi Nyu’s usual tone, “that’s how it is” is quite special, so we wanted to bring a different feel.  Then I heard my older cousin’s on break from the army talking and noticed that they have a unique way of speaking, “is that how it is?  that’s how it is.”  I spoke about this with the writers, and we thought that it fit her well.  At first, we heard people say that it’s hard to watch and asked us not to use it, but I think people are starting to like it now.  Mi Nyu’s way of talking is now a trend on the set with the staff.
LHK: My young sister told me that Shin Hye ssi’s way of talking is now the trend in her school.  Geun Suk hyung’s hair style is also catching on, and the skeleton accessories that I wear is also popular.  I was looking to buy some clothing online and I noticed that the exact same skeleton accessories were being sold with a “Approved by Lee Hong Ki” seal.

Q: I’m sure JGS also thought a lot about your style and visual.  There’s also a lot of talk about your unique hairstyle.
JGS: I’m at a point where I don’t even have enough time to look at the script and really get into character, so I can’t put too much effort into my look.  I’m trusting our stylists and other experts to get it look.  At first, there were a lot of different reactions to my hair, but in actuality, I had so little time to prepare for this role that I needed something to bring this character to life.  I heard such comments as “JGS shines when he’s made into a handsome man, why aren’t they doing that?”  It’s not that I don’t realize this, but I think he’ll be more relatable if his character shows his awkward side as well.  And the other 3 are idol-like enough for all 4 of us.

Q: You’re the oldest of the group.  How do you lead on set?
JGS: Until now, I’ve always been the youngest of the group.  I’ve learned a lot from (Kang) Ji Hwan in Hong Gil Dong and from (Kim) Myung Min in Beethoven’s Virus.  This is the first time that I’ve had to lead the team, and one thing that I think is important is  good teamwork in the group A.N.JELL.  We may be relaxed on set, but when the director needs it, we need to bring a soldier’s disciple and create tension in the scenes.  In an earlier interview, I talked about learning a lot from Ji Hwan hyung’s leadership.  Then I received a text from him saying, “Don’t make me laugh.  You’re the one who listened the least!”  (Laughing.)

Q: I heard that you’ve been practicing your scowl (dubbed spoiled smile) in the mirror.  What did you think after you saw it on screen?
JGS: It’s fun to monitor it.  Hwang Tae Kyung is very straight-laced, precise, sensitive, and a germaphobe as well, but he does allow for a small part of him to be open.  Through that space, I want to show another side of him and I believe that people will accept him through it.  I’m having fun with the “spoiled smile” and showing a cartoonish side.  From this week’s episode, Tae Kyung shows a face where he purses his lips, which is Meryl Streep’s trademark for showing her disdain in The Devil Wears Prada.

Q: How do you intend to show Hwang Tae Kyung’s appeal in the future?
JGS: Hwang Tae Kyung’s appeal is edginess and stupidity? (Laughing.)  Even thought he wants perfection and is a germaphobe, I think it’s important for me to show that he’s a real person.  In reality, the drama isn’t missing much.  I think our director and writers have the ability to continue showing a drama with speedy storylines like a cartoon, and scenes that can show many different sides.

YB_10Asia_1

Q: Jung Yong Hwa already has the title “handkerchief man” with great reaction from fans.  Does it seem real?
JYH: Honestly, I’m always on the set so I don’t really feel it yet.  But whenever I have time, I see my name on online search lists and sometimes I search my name as well.  Because the first 2 episodes were my first time on set, so I didn’t really know anything I was squirming in some of my scenes.  But I’m thankful that people were so gracious.  Every scene is really hard but my seniors are always looking out for me and explaining everything.
PSH: I’ve been getting so many phone calls from my friends asking about Yong Hwa ssi.  Who is he?  He’s so good looking.  My heart is racing… So I ask them how I was, and they don’t care about that at all.  (Laughter.)

Q: Who do you like better?  Your group CN Blue or A.N.JELL?
JYH: Both are in my heart.  (Laughter.)  When I’m with A.N.JELL, I think about my members (CN Blue) and when I’m with my members, I think about A.N.JELL.

Q: Shin Woo finds out in ep2 that Mi Nam is a girl.  What will happen next?
JYH: At first, Shin Woo was cold and only welcomed Mi Nam with laughter.  But when he finds out that she’s really a girl, he takes good care of her.  I’ve been thinking about how I can express that well and have been talking it through with Shin Hye.  The way I see it, I think Shin Woo had a painful love in the past.  So he has a scar and tends to avoid people, but after meeting Mi Nam, he thinks that his scar is healing bit by bit.  Whenever he’s around Mi Nam, you’ll see more of his bright character and his desire to watch over her.
JGS: Actually, women will find his character more appealing than mine.

Q: So far Jeremy is portrayed as a little slow and hasn’t figured out Mi Nam’s true self yet.  How are you in real life?
LHK: I really am a bit slow in real life.  I’m usually the one who’s out of the loop.  (Laughter.)  I usually don’t know what’s going on until my managers tell me.  But if it’s something good for me, I catch on pretty quick.

Q: It looks like you’ve lost a lot of weight since the beginning of filming.
LHK:  Ever since we started script reading, our director told me to get in better shape.  Even though Jeremy’s character is very bright and child-like, he’s supposed to look like a man when he takes his clothes off.  So I lost about 6-7kg.  The drama takes place during the fall and winter, but the director wants Jeremy to keep wearing tanks at the club or the practice room.  So it feels like the set is a health club. (Laughter.)
PSH:  He really exercises all the time.  His internet nickname “Baek Man Dol Yi” Hong Ki is real.  So I end up exercising next to him.  (Not sure what that means? Does anyone know?)

YB_10Asia_JYHYB_10Asia_LHK

Q: Before you debuted with FT Island, you were a child actor.  How do you think the reaction is now that you have an adult role?
LHK:  After the first episode, people thought I seems small.  But after the next episode, I’m hearing that I’m making the character my own and getting some good response.  My FT Island members usually pick out each other’s faults, but they’re giving me a lot of compliments this time around.  They say that the drama is really fun, and that I’m no longer small and seem like myself.  (Laughter.)

Q: The scene where Mi Nam falls off the bench and ends up locking lips with Tae Kyung was funny.  I’m sure there were some great moments while filming.
PSH
: Because I was held on with wires, I couldn’t get myself to stretch out fully.  Those who were holding me up complained so much of pain.
LHK: When Shin Hye ssi threw up, the vomit got on Geun Suk hyung’s mouth.  It was so funny.
PSH: It was a mixture of yogurt and vegetable soup.  I thought I was going to die of laughter hearing myself threw up.  Maybe Hong Ki ssi loves Geun Suk oppa a little too much, because he flipped me over while yelling “Tae Kyung hyung” and going to his rescue.  I flew in the air because he was did it so forcefully.  I am still a girl! (Laughter.)
LHK: Ha ha, it must have been because I was so focused on my acting.

Q: From the 3 men you’re filming with, who’s the closest to your ideal man?
PSH: All 3 of them take care of me so well, I don’t have an ideal type.  I’m just happy that I get to be with 3 good looking men.  If I had to choose a character, it would be Shin Woo.  I think a lot of women will feel the same way.  And Tae Kyung is a bit… (laughter), for my usual self, I don’t think I can handle all of Tae Kyung’s rudeness.
LHK: Actually, it would be hard for even a man to handle Tae Kyung.  (Looking in JGS’s direction…) I don’t mean you hyung, your character! (Laughter.)

Q: KBS’s IRIS is premiering this week and you will be going into a tough ratings battle.  How are you preparing?
PSH: Every drama’s story and characters are so different, and I don’t want to talk for the viewers.  But our drama is a story about young people’s spirit and determination, working together to achieve their goals.  We’ll see lots of episodes around Mi Nam and Tae Kyung’s skirmishes, Shin Woo’s jealousy, Jeremy’s misunderstandings.  As I mentioned at the press conference, we’re an “easy” drama but we’ll keep getting up even if we get stepped on.  Just as I used to laugh whenever thinking about Kim Byun Wook director and Hong sister’s other projects, I hope viewers will burst into laughter while thinking, “Today’s the day for You’re Beautiful.”  We’re hoping to bring this kind of drama.

Via 10Asia

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Svenus permalink
    October 14, 2009 9:41 am

    OMG I love all of them the drama is soooo good…..forget about IRIS this is the show to watch…is like watching a manga/anime come to live and that makes it unique!!!!!! I love JGS current hairstyle he looks really goth and gives out that ”I hate the world vibe’ which is great……

  2. October 14, 2009 11:09 am

    haha… I love them too – so darn cute! I have to admit that I’ll be checking out IRIS though… that Lee Byung Hyun is too good to pass up.

  3. jasmine permalink
    October 1, 2010 4:41 am

    weeeeeee. “THUMBS UP” is my best way to illustrate all about the drama comedy.

  4. jasmine permalink
    October 1, 2010 4:41 am

    “THUMBS UP” is my best way to illustrate all about the drama comedy.

Leave a Reply

