Skip to content

Creating Destiny: Episode 8

November 14, 2009

I can’t help but compare Creating Destiny with Smile, You, two weekend series with the meshing of families. I enjoy the parents and family relationships quite a bit in Creating Destiny, but find the main couple to be lacking. Maybe I’m just being impatient with the development, but there’s something missing in Yeo Joon and Sang Eun’s formula. I’m more looking forward to Hyo Eun developing her relationship with Chul Ho (doctor from hospital), hoping that they have a bit more spark.

I keep watching because of the families. I think the immigration aspect of the story makes me a bit… homesick, shall I say? The background of the story really resonate with me. For example, I enjoyed the time that Sang Eun spends with Grandma Lee. It’s sweet and reminds me of the times that I spent with my grandmother. It’s these moments that makes me hold onto the series, despite its short comings.

Creating Destiny OST: DIDN’T KNOW I WOULD FALL IN LOVE –
V.O.S. [사랑할 줄은 몰랐어]
(Download)


On their way back from the airport, Sang Eun shocks the hell out of Yeo Joon with her idea, “Let’s move in together!” He thinks she’s crazy, “You’re not scared? What if I get drunk and jump you?” (Hahaha! I’m not sure if our straight laced Yeo Joon has it in him.) Either way, she convinces Yeo Joon, tantalizing him with a life without his meddling family.

They come home and tell the adults about their intentions, reminding them that Grandma’s the one who first suggested the idea. Grandma Lee and Yeo Joon’s parents are surprised and upset. They, of course, didn’t believe that Sang Eun would actually want to move out with Yeo Joon. Grandma Lee says that she’ll think about it, but the prospect of actually moving out together seems slim to none.

Jin-hee goes to see Gyu Han again, worried that he’s too focused on Yoon Hee and Jin Ju. She asks him about his feelings, but Gyu Han doesn’t give a straight answer. “Yoon Hee noona isn’t someone you can win over easily.” Seeing that Gyu Han has feelings for Yoon Hee, Jin Hee decides to back Hye Rim for Yeo Joon. (Apparently, that would make Gyu Han and Yoon Hee “siblings”, and it would make it difficult for them to get married or have a relationship.) She figures out a way to get her husband on her side.

Over in Australia, Kyung Tae tries to persuade his family to move back to Korea. Neither Grandpa Yoon nor Hyo Eun is thrilled with the idea.

Grandma Lee asks Sang Eun to take her to the hospital for a doctor’s visit. Before heading to the hospital, they share about life and Sang Eun’s future.

    GL: You think I’m forcing the two of you together in my old age. But that’s not it. Your dad was like a son to me. And you may not remember, but your mom was like a daughter to me. So I don’t want to just give you to anyone. They say that the world’s most beautiful flowers are people. I think you guys are beautiful… So you really want to move out?
    SE: Yes, grandma!
    GL: OK. I’ll look into it. Somewhere nearby and safe for a woman living alone.
    SE: I can live by myself?
    GL: Of course! A man and woman can’t live by themselves without causing people to talk. I don’t want you to hear such words even before you get married. So even when you live alone, I want to be careful about how you behave.

Sang Eun is excited to have Grandma Lee’s support and gives her a big hug. She’s a little old school, but I still appreciate her support of Sang Eun’s independence. (This scene totally reminded me of my 95 year old grandmother in Korea. I want to give her a hug too!)

The Shim family head off for dinner at a restaurant where Hye Rim turns away food because she smells peaches in it. Her dad, Dae Han, suspects that she ate the peaches on purpose. Hye Rim reveals that she ate the peaches so that Yeo Joon would stay with her. She exclaims that she would die for him. When her dad asks why, she replies that he’s the only one who believed in her throughout her life. We also find out that she had a rough childhood, growing up with a single dad. She wins her father over and he agrees to let her marry Yeo Joon. (Goodness gracious. Yes, marry her off to someone who has no desire to get married. That should work out well…)

Grandma Lee heads to the hospital and tells Yeo Joon about Sang Eun’s independence. He’s so surprised about the news, that he pulls Sang Eun aside to find out how she convinced his grandmother. Sang Eun replies, “She’s not completely unreasonable like someone I know.”

Knowing that Sang Eun will move out alone, Geum Ja and Yoon Hee talk about her. Yoon Hee expresses her approval of Sang Eun but Geum Ja doesn’t seem to happy about her. She doesn’t like the way she hugged a stranger, doesn’t like the way she dresses, and wonders how she lived when she was in the States alone. This prompts Yoon Hee to ask, “Do you think she has a secret daughter like me?” Geum Ja balks at the idea, and Yoon Hee comments, “You’re just like a typical mother-in-law. You treat your own daughter different from a daughter-in-law. Right?” Ah… so true.

(Small sidetrack: I like Sang Eun’s clothes in the series. She’s wearing a cute jacket in this episode, and a previous episodes had her sporting, what looked to be the new studded Louboutins.)

Sang Eun visits Se Won at his academy and they get into a conversation about Yoon Hee and Hae Sung. I like the fact that Se Won stands up for his brother in front of Sang Eun and that she stands up for Yoon Hee. (I’m a big fan of family loyalty.)

After getting an earful from Sang Eun, Se Won goes to see his brother with a critical eye. “Do you know how much trouble I had with my ‘ kindergarten partner’ because of you?” It’s cute how he calls Sang Eun his kindergarten partner. He asks Hae Sung what he plans to do about Jin Ju in the future.

Hae Sung’s plans are to nag Yoon Hee to death. He heads over to Jin Ju’s ballet lesson and whisks her away with the promise of pizza. Yoon Hee is furious with Hae Sung’s behavior and gets even more enraged when he wants to start anew with her. “Whenever I thought about you, my heart bleeds with anger. Even now, my insides turn when I think about you. And you want to start again?” She stomps out with Jin Ju, leaving Hae Sung dumbfounded.

Hyo Eun goes on strike, after Kyung Tae talks about moving to Korea. (Haha – love the mask with the red X. I should get one of those.) Hyo Eun tells him to go to Korea alone since he’s the one who wants to go. Kyung Tae retorts by telling Hyo Eun that they don’t have much time left together before she leaves the fold. Grandpa Yoon chimes in. “The time that a family can live together is very short. So when you’re able to live together, you should do it with all your heart. That’s happiness.”

I love these family moments in the series. It makes me so nostalgic. There are times that I miss living with my parents and sister, so Grandpa Yoon’s comment really struck home for me.

Yeo Joon looks at a small box and thinks about the (mystery) woman whom he’s waiting for. (Is it possibly a ring?) His father calls him and Sang Eun down to talk about her new apartment. He gives Yeo Joon very strict instructions. It should be within 5 km radius, in a building atleast 5 stories high, with 3 door locks, and Yeo Joon needs to be make sure that there aren’t any men living next door. It’s a ridiculous request but it’s sweet how he takes care of Sang Eun like his own.

Yeo Joon and Sang Eun go apartment hunting, with Yeo Joon wanting to pick one out as quickly as possible and Sang Eun wanting to check out as many as possible. At that moment, Jin Hee sees them coming out of a realtor’s office, and finds out that they’re looking for a new place together.

Jin Hee and her husband are in shock about the new apartment, and run over to Yoon Hee’s dduk cafe. They sit Sang Eun down to ask about her betrothal with Yeo Joon. Grandpa Yoon surprises Sang Eun and comes up to hear Hye Rim’s parents talk about their daughter. He’s pretty funny with his comment, “She’s weird. Why does she like a married man?”

Grandma Lee and Taek Soo find Grandpa Yoon and bring him back down to the house. He’s dissatisfied by how they’ve handled the situation and goes all Goong on them, “You’ve had the two of them here until now, why haven’t you had them sleep together? If you had thrown them into a room and nailed the door shut, it wouldn’t have come to this.” Grandma Lee is bewildered to hear his comments, but just lets him be for now.

Yeo Joon comes home to find the house in disarray with the arrival of Sang Eun’s family. Grandpa Yoon sits the 2 of them down and demands to know what he’s going to do about their impending marriage, shocking Sang Eun and Yeo Joon alike.

Finally the Hans have moved back to Korea! Hopefully, this means more bromance between Taek Soo and Tae Kyung! (OK fine. You caught me. I’ve already watched the next 2 episodes, and know that there is more brotherly love.) Because I like both Eugene and the 3 piece hottie, Ki Tae Young, I’d really like to see a bit more chemistry between these two. Our episode number is moving into the teens, so let’s get in some more action!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. bluebunny permalink
    November 14, 2009 11:59 am

    thanks for adding the song! did the ost come out?

    i like eugene so that’s why i started watching this drama but i too feel that the chemistry with our two leads isn’t there yet. we already past esp 10 and there isn’t much going on between them. i wonder what the writters are doing…

    • November 14, 2009 8:22 pm

      I think just the VOS song has been released from the OST. I like Eugene a lot also. I do think it’s the writing that’s lacking… There has been talks of 37 – 50 episodes, and maybe this is why the writers have been holding back on moving along their relationship?

  2. diane permalink
    December 3, 2009 4:57 pm

    THANKS FOR RECAP. I WATCH THE 14 EP.
    THEY START TO HAVE CHEMISTRY BUT THE 3RD PARTY INTERFERE.
    BUT I RATHER LET THEM SLOWLY DEVELOP THE RELATIONSHIP
    PUT OUR SHOES IN THEIR SITUATION, BEING FORCE TO MARRIED SOMEONE
    YOU DONT KNOW. SHE WAS RAISED IN AUSTRALIA AND HE WAS RAISED
    BY KOREAN TRADITION. OFF COURSE IT WILL BUT
    AT END THEY START TO UNDERSTAND, LISTEN TO EACH OTHER
    THE LOVE START TO DEVELOPE BETWEEN THE COUPLE
    THE WRITER WANT TO SHOW THE DIFFERENT CULTURE BACK GROUND
    CAN LOVE EACH OTHER IT DOES NOT MATTER THAT YOU ARE KOREAN
    RAISE IN US OR OUR HOME COUNTRY WE ARE ASIAN NOT CAUSCASION.

  3. cloud513 permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:33 pm

    Hi. I really love this series. A bit slow but upcoming episodes starting with ep 14 seem exciting enough. Oh, and I like your nickname for Ki Tae yeong – 3 piece hottie! IMHO, the two have great chemistry! Love the new V.O.S. MV one person and previews of ep 17. Although I don’t understand Korean, I especially like your beautiful songs and traditions like bowing to elders, two hands in giving say a calling card which asian people outside Korea now follow, 2 bows is this correct?) for the departed etc… You only had up to ep 10 – I hope you will continue your blog!

Leave a Reply

