Skip to content

“Jack the Ripper” Musical

November 18, 2009

Ooh… so up my alley.  Totally makes me want to go to Korea.  The new musical, Jack the Ripper, is a story about Andrew (played by Ahn Jae Wook, Eom Ki Joon, Kim Moo Yeol, and Shin Suk Rok) and his search to save his true love, Gloria.  Jack, the Ripper tries to murder Gloria but Andrew saves her by seemingly killing Jack.  The musical traverses multiple decades, with Andrew leaving and returning to London, all the while trying to protect Gloria.

Just to clarify, Andrew isn’t played by all 4 men at once.  They take turns with Ahn Jae Wook taking most of the dates during the first phase.  If I was in Korea, I would definitely go watch when Eom Ki Joon is scheduled to perform.  He doesn’t have too many dates, since he’s simultaneously filming the drama, Hero.

This reminds me of Sweeney Todd, which I absolutely adore.  I even loved the movie version with Johnny Depp.  I can still hear the songs in my head:  “I feel you… Johanna…”  More posters of Jack the Ripper below, as well as the quartet version of the song “Johanna” which was sadly not included in the movie.

And here’s the 1982 cast of Sweeney Todd with the Johanna quartet starting at 2:50.  It’s pretty amazing what you can find on youtube!

Via Joynews

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

