Skip to content

Jung Yong Hwa: Shin Woo hyung-nim

December 1, 2009

Here’s Part2 of the 10Asia profile on Jung Yong Hwa.  He shares his thoughts on his character, Shin Woo (and we learn that he’s part of the band C.N. Blue… for the umpteenth time.)  It’s a bit repetitive, but I guess I gotta succumb.

I still haven’t caught the last 2 episodes of You’re Beautiful yet, because I have been immersed, infatuated, intoxicated, bewitched, seduced, beguiled and [*insert any obsessed term here] with my crush of the day:  I’m Sorry, I Love You.  If you haven’t seen it, go watch it.  Seriously.

With my doting out of the way, back to your regularly scheduled programming.

They are present in hundreds of dramas. Even though they love her, he decides to stand by on guard rather than have a glamorous moment of confession. Whenever she needs him, or when she’s in pain from another love, he’s always there to comfort her. They’re known as “sub-man”. [Haha… Subman.  Koreans.]  He’s unable to fulfill his love, but able to gain the love of all other women.

Just like Temptation of Wolves‘ Jung Tae Sung (Kang Dong Won), and Boys Over Flowers‘ Yoon Ji Hoo (Kim Hyun Joong), Kang Shin Woo (Jung Yong Hwa) follows suit. As the band member who comforted and took care of Go Mi Nam (Park Shin Hye), he finally just lets her go to his fellow member, Hwang Tae Kyung, bringing on a chorus of “Shin Woo oppa~” for the past 2 months.

“When a man sees another man act that way, it’s easy to think ‘why is he like that’? [Laughter] The ladies like it, but even men, when they are honest about it, have a desire to be like it. Because it’s cool.” With his long neck and clean face, he captures that kind of elegance. But in reality, he’s just like his peers and loves to play jokes. The 21 year old [Korean age] was “embarrassed whenever I had to read slimy lines.” He was coined “towel man” from the beginning. “I don’t know women well, and didn’t understand why the line, ‘If you’re here, I can’t wash’ caused such a stir. Back then, I was only interested in making sure I got my lines correct.”

The man who confesses to worrying about lines before emotions, is a first time actor and part of the band C.N. Blue, as a singer and guitarist. He’s enjoyed music from High School, and decided early on to chase after this path. He immediately moved up to Seoul after finishing his entrance exams and started performing with the band in June. They started playing streetside in the middle of summer, and even participated in small live events. His opportunity to audition for You’re Beautiful was also because of his band experience. “I enjoy playing and making contact with a live audience. I really enjoyed shooting the live concerts during the drama.”

His eyes glisten with excitement as he talks about music. But had anxiety during the drama, “A single camera was more frightening than a thousand audience members.” Although he exceeded expectation with his restrained expressions and clean delivery, “I wanted people to ask if I had acted before, instead of hearing that it was adequate for a newbie. But I didn’t succeed.” His answer showed us that there is a resilient mind behind the calm demeanor. Riding the You’re Beautiful momentum, he received a call to join the “Sunday Sunday Night” lineup, and will be traveling back and forth from Japan to prepare for C.N. Blue‘s January debut. “It may look like the Jung Yong Hwa of 2 months ago is different from the Jung Yong Hwa of today, but the most important thing is attitude. I’m determined.” It’s a very “Shin Woo hyung-nim” kind of answer.


(From High Cut photo spread)

Via 10Asia

11 Comments leave one →
  1. thereshegoes permalink
    December 1, 2009 8:10 pm

    Thank you…v much for this article..i really really appreciate it…

    Like Talented and humble Yong hwa….

  2. ayay permalink
    December 1, 2009 8:10 pm

    okay,…. now I’m sure that you have Shin woo disease 🙂

    “I still haven’t caught the last 2 episodes of You’re Beautiful yet”…
    uhmmm… does it mean you havent watched the last 2 episodes?? WOW!!!! I cant believe it…. well actually I did the same thing until last weekend…(my sister came and watched it online… I ended up watching it online….arrrrrrrrggghh)

    I wish him all the best….show, debut, etc. he’s definitely a good guy

    PS : oh you’re rewatching I’m sorry I love you? yes, good drama, but sadly I didnt like the ending, even tough I knew it from the start that the ending will be like that 😦

    • December 1, 2009 8:31 pm

      I’m not that far into IS, ILY yet. But I absolutely LOVE what I’ve seen. I actually have no idea about the ending and know very little about the series in general – just as I like it.

      • ayay permalink
        December 2, 2009 6:48 am

        uhmmm…. sorry I didnt mean to spoil you T_T
        too bad, I’ve just realized that you’re currently WATCHING this drama… not rewatching it… 😦

      • December 2, 2009 9:16 am

        No worries. I already knew that it’s not the happiest of kdramas.

  3. ditdut permalink
    December 2, 2009 1:24 am

    I still wonder if he’s really Jung Kyungho’s brother. Not that it’s important or anything, but I find it a little strange that there’s no mention of it in these 2 parts.

    • December 2, 2009 1:44 am

      Haha. It was just a funny rumor that was going around. I don’t think there would be any reason to mention it… They do look alike a wee bit.

  4. December 3, 2009 2:01 am

    Your blog looks wonderful. It was nice going through your blog. Keep it up the good work.

  5. Belle permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:00 pm

    Thanks for translating! It was rather repetitive for the most part, but what he said third paragraph about not being able to understand his character at first was new to me. I thought it also correlated with how his acting improved throughout the show, i.e. contrast his acting in Episode 3 (when he couldn’t understand his lines) with that in Episode 13 (when he definitely did understand Shin-woo by this point).

  6. maricar permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:31 am

    Jeremy thanks 4 coming to the philippines last March 6, 2010 4 the concert of FT ISLAND i have fan in the concert meet new frnds bcoz of ur concert, hope that u vsit again the philippines 4 the promo tour of You’re beautiful next time.

  7. CutieHydie permalink
    October 21, 2010 10:32 pm

    I love jung y0ng hwa so much im so attracted to her tantalizing eyes and kissable lips ive always watch’n her korean0velas he’s beautiful and im so afraid c0z it is the last day of their m0vie..hmmm h0w sad

Leave a Reply

