Skip to content

The Cast of Road Number One

December 3, 2009

I’ve already been interested in the Korean War drama, Road Number One, but my interest level has risen astronomically with my current obsession of I’m Sorry, I Love You. I’ve always like So Ji Sub, but didn’t realize that he could be the love of my life until now.

I really like war movies, as long as it remains true to life and isn’t too one-sided. (Or maybe I just like the history channel.) And as an added bonus, the full cast is rounding out to be a gem, raising my excitement level. 2010 is the 60th anniversary of the Korean War, which is the reason for the multiple Korean War projects that are in the works for next year.

Road Number One is being touted as a docu-drama, in the vein of Band of Brothers (which I really enjoyed). It also is a big budget production, which is kind of necessary to tell a good war story visually.

So Ji Sub will play the lead character Lee Jang Woo, the son of a poor farmer, who selects the life of a soldier to shed his poor background. After doing menial work (clean up) as a non-commissioned officer, he looks to return home for marriage when the war breaks out, forcing him to go into battle. With a desire to keep his woman safe, he jumps into battle with gusto, and gets promoted. The drama will also show the turmoil that the men face while fighting a civil war.

Kim Haneul (On Air, My Agent is a Girlfriend) will play his girlfriend, Kim Soo Yeon. And Lee Jang Woo’s best friend, Shin Tae Ho, who also is his rival for Kim Soo Yeon, has not yet been cast.

Joining the 3 main characters is Choi Min Soo (Sandglass, The Legend) who will play Lee Jang Woo and Shin Tae Ho’s commanding general, and will be a valiant character. Son Chang Min (Shin Don) will take the role of bad guy in the regiment, Oh Jong Ki, a violent and cruel man.

The main director of the series will be Kim Jin Min (A Bittersweet Life, Time Between Dog and Wolf, Shin Don) and written by Han Ji Hwan (Taegukgi, Time Between Dog and Wolf). It’ll begin shooting in January, after the main cast is finalized and will start airing in June (probably close to 6.25). It’s scheduled to be a 16 episode series.

I don’t love Kim Haneul but I think she’s probably good enough for the part.  I really like Choi Min Soo and Son Chang Min, from my earlier drama watching days.  And I’m pretty sure that So Ji Sub will become an obsession very soon.  On top of the cast, the director and writer are both solid.  It’s looking to be a great project, right up my alley.  I can’t wait for some stills.

Via SportsChosun, Newsen

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ripgal permalink
    December 4, 2009 7:37 am

    I’m so very EXCITED too!
    With the writer-PD combo, plus SJS and KHN (who are both my favorites!), Road No.1 is definitely something I’m not gonna miss for sure.

    Btw, I loveeee your screen-shot of Moo Hyuk in your header.
    Still remember that scene vividly..

    • December 4, 2009 8:10 am

      Hi ripgal! Yes mucho mucho excited about RN1, SJS, and MISA. (I just learned that MISA=IS,ILY from thundie. hee hee.)

  2. ayay permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:16 am

    oh so… Kim Ha Neul in the end? I thought it would be Ha Ji Won…
    but I cant wait this drama,, looks promising…
    when will it be aired?

  3. Belle permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:11 pm

    PD Kim Jin Min + writer Han Ji Hwan + So Ji-sub + Korean war = WIN, basically. This drama is definitely one of the dramas I’m really looking forward to.

    I like war movies, too, as long as — as you have said — it retains a balanced perspective and is realistic. I enjoyed Band of Brothers, but I do wish WWII movies/TV series produced by Hollywood wouldn’t concentrate so much on D-Day and the American entry into the war. It’d be nice to have more of a focus on the war as a whole and the other countries that were involved.

    • December 5, 2009 1:46 am

      I totally hear you about the American-centric point of view. Unfortunately, it’s hard to find them coming out of hollywood… so I guess we gotta turn elsewhere.
      And this is totally 2nd on my 2010 drama list, right after Chuno.

Leave a Reply

