Skip to content

Sandara Park as Seung Gi’s gumiho?

April 27, 2010

The new drama from the Hong sisters, My Girlfriend is a Gumiho, is in search for their female star. The latest buzz has been around 2NE1’s Sandara Park to take the famed role as the nine-tailed fox. It’s been awhile since Lee Seung Gi was cast as the lead male – a man afraid that he’s girlfriend would steal his liver for her beauty regimen.

Before I write up my annoyance, I’ll say that I like 2NE1. I don’t really know their music but I like their spunky attitude. I also found the demure and soft spoken Sandara Park quite likeable when I saw her on Family Outing and Strong Heart. (And she looks really pretty in the picture.) But I wish the role would be given to an actor. I understood the need for singers on You’re Beautiful and loved them dearly on the drama. But isn’t casting Seung Gi as the lead enough for the singer/actor representation? I will say that I’m completely biased because I haven’t seen Sandara Park act, so she may end up being the best thing since slice bread. (If that happens, I guess I’ll have to eat my words.) But there are so many capable young actresses who could use this kind of break. How about Moon Chae Won? Or Bae Geu Rin? Or Lee Eun Sung? Or even Kang Byul?

My little rant could be for naught as the Gumiho production has denied the casting rumors and have said that they’re still in the final stages of a final casting. I’m crossing my fingers that we have a talented actresses make the cut.

My Girlfriend is a Gumiho is set to premier in August after Kim Sun Ah‘s ahjumma band drama, I am Legend. The nice thing about all this Gumiho news is that it is set to start production as soon as the casting is finalized. Hurry for pre-production!

Via Newsen

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 3:07 am

    That’s the problem though, the two names that were being thrown around were Sandara Park and Shin Se Kyung. Shin Se Kyung is an actress, but not a very good one from what I’ve heard. I was thinking that Moon Chae Won would be a great choice as well, but that was just my wishful thinking. We can only hope they’re smart about this and cast someone for talent and not their image.

  2. ditdut permalink
    April 28, 2010 4:38 am

    My wishful thinking is Moon Chaewon as well. Kang Byul or Lee Eunsung would be a great choice too if Moon Chaewon isn’t available.

    But Sandara Park? Or Shin Sekyung? Both are really popular now, but I don’t know. For me, this just looks like Hong Sisters trying to get their rating magnetism back.

  3. 1n2dfansubs permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:03 pm

    Hiya dw4p. This is so typical of the SBS hype machine. Apparently Sandara Park was never in the running; the Gumiho PD indicates that it might be one of these 3 – Lee Min Jung, Shin Se Kyung, or Jeon Ji Hyun. The Gumiho people even said that they haven’t heard of Sandara being considered until news come out with the reports. Ahhh, the noise marketing using her name. 2NE1 fans are not going to be happy if they drag out the casting process and don’t announce the actress name soon.

    Great that they will film in advance. I guess Seung Gi’s schedule is free for him to do it then. Last I read, 1N2D was planning the N Korea trek this summer. This is a sign that they may not go ahead with the trip (esp seeing the political climate ATM). Tho I wish they continue with the N Korea Special. No better time and reason for it than now. They scratched Antarctica, can’t do it again with this one.lol

  4. April 28, 2010 11:04 pm

    OMG. I look die and go to heaven if Lee Min Jung is cast for the role. Although, I think it might not be the best career move for her. I feel like she may be too busy with the Cyrano movie to take the drama role as well. But Seung Gi and Lee Min Jung would be so cute together.

  5. June 1, 2010 4:30 am

    ..you should really try sandara..she’s a nice artist or actress like here in the philippines before..you should not judge the book by it’s cover… thank you

Leave a Reply

