Skip to content

Hiatus Done

June 27, 2010

So I was forced to take a month long hiatus from the blog and kdramas (*gasp*) due to some personal reasons. But the beginning of summer (here in the northern hemisphere) is the perfect time to return to some good ole kdrama love. Looking at the past few posts, it’s apparent that I was in Seung Gi’s gumiho-land so I guess it’s only appropriate that I revisit in my first post back.

I’m a bit of a sucker for folklore and mythology so both gumiho projects (My Girlfriend is a Gumiho and Gumiho: Tale of the Fox’s Child) have piqued my interest to say the least. There have been quite a lot of stills released for Fox’s Child as it is set to premier on 7/5 and seeing the sub-par image for the child gumiho made me long for the awesome gumiho story told by the brilliant Kwak Jung Hwan (Conspiracy in the Court, Chuno) in the first season of Hometown Legends. Seriously, doesn’t Park Min Young look sexy and frightening as the gumiho?

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I like Han Eun Jung. I know she’s got a lot of shortcomings as an actor but I root for her. I thought it would be nice to see her in a sageuk role after making her mark wearing undergarments in Full House. But geez, the above images are pretty crappy aren’t they? That is truly an awful attempt at portraying a gumiho. You would expect the fox child to look, oh I don’t know, foxy? Precocious? Alarming? Kim Yoo Jung (Han Hyo Joo’s younger counterpart) looks more like a fox child than that crazy mask. (And I won’t even get started on Han Eun Jung’s facial expression in that picture. Yikes.)

As for the mother fox, Han Eun Jung is supposed to bring sexy back as the gumiho taking revenge. And what says sexy more than a sheer hanbok top and a rose petal bath scene. (Double yikes) I mean where is she taking that bath? At a Sandals resort in sageukland?

This is by far my favorite released still for Fox’s Child. I am enamored with Seo Shin Ae‘s facial expression in this photo. And it totally reminds me of Jin Ji Hee‘s stoic character (Eun Sol) in Alone in Love – whom I absolutely loved. The two child actresses were in High Kick Through the Roof together, so maybe Ji Hee gave Shin Ae some pointers.

I will checking out the drama next week but I’ve decided to greatly lower my expectations based on these stills.

Now for a completely different gumiho… Shin Mina takes on the role of the sexy femme fatale with her scared, loser boyfriend (Lee Seung Gi) bewitched by her beauty and frightened by her liver cravings. As much as the Hong sisters promise more melodrama, the released poster shot seems to be pointing more towards comedy which suits me just fine.

The photo reminds me of My Super Ex-Girlfriend (the one with Luke Wilson and Uma Thurman) which could be both good and bad. The movie itself was bad but it had its moments. And I can totally see Seung Gi acting the role of a non-confrontational, scared little puppy, so it’s kinda making me excited.

One Comment leave one →
  1. thundie permalink
    July 1, 2010 5:30 am

    Welcome back from bloggy hiatus! 😆

Leave a comment