Skip to content

Harvest Villa’s Newcomer Kang Byul

April 25, 2010

My affections for Harvest Villa has been trolling the webosphere for more Villa news. And the bull-headed high schooler, Song Yi, is getting a bit of attention as the newcomer to the block. I find her to be quite adorable on the show and am glad to see the coverage. Below is a loose translation of 2 articles on Kang Byul.

New actor, Kang Byul, is turning heads as the sassy Park Song Yi in Harvest Villa. It was technically her first project, even though it’s airing after her 2nd drama, Creating Destiny. She beat out 200 other girls to win the part as Song Yi.

“I was worried about my first drama, but I wasn’t nervous. I looked forward to acting on set for the first time and really enjoyed the experience. I was more nervous about my second project, Creating Destiny. I didn’t know what I was doing on Harvest Villa. But knowing a little bit more [on Destiny] made things more difficult.”

Working with the likes of Baek Yoon Shik, Shin Ha Kyun, and Lee Bo Young was a learning experience and she was especially anxious for her first reading. “I felt like my heart was going to burst when I met people who were so much more experienced me, like I was meeting a real celebrity. I envy them from top to bottom. But being able to act with them, and the very fact of being in the same drama as them makes me excited. So I said hello with confidence and did a lot of preparation before the first reading.”

The effort seems to have paid off, as she started following Baek Yoon Shik and Shin Ha Kyun as her mentors. “I thought Baek Yoon Shik teacher would be scary, but he’s really fun and caring. He seems gruff but he’ll say something funny. Shin Ha Kyun sun-bae-nim always tells me to ask him any questions while we’re shooting and gives me lots of great advice.”

Being together with so many experienced actors makes the set a learning ground for Kang Byul. “I’ve learned that ad libbing is a form of acting, and that you need a lot of common sense. Living on set everyday and watching my seniors act is giving me a lot of things that I can hold onto and use in the future.”

She’s also had a lot of fun being Song Yi. “There were a lot of new things that I tried out and I really enjoyed it. Running around barefoot was even satisfying. While wearing wires, I thought I was an action star. But when it actually came down to it, I was a little scared.”

Kang Byul spent most of her childhood overseas. She lived in the US after she was born until she was 5. After returning to Korea until the 6th grade, she moved to Canada and didn’t return until High School. Her parents were too excited about her desires to act, and encouraged her to concentrate on her studies. But she took a foray into the entertainment industry though a reality show with high school girls, hosted by Jun Jin.

She has desires to play lots of different characters. She want to play a loving and simple character that Gong Hyo Jin played in the drama Pasta. She also wants to do a sports movie like Bronze Medalist, and a blood curling thriller.

Her role model is Kim Yun Jin of Lost. She was really moved by her acting on the show and wants to cross over to the States one day as an actor.

(This is me.) She speaks English like a native speaker because she spend most of her childhood in Canada. She doesn’t have much experience under her belt yet, but I think she could definitely have a future in Hollywood if she keeps growing as an actor. I’d love to see her doing something a bit more serious in her next project.

Via Osen, SportsChosun

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ditdut permalink
    April 26, 2010 5:26 am

    Ah, she was in that Schoolgirl show with Junjin. I had been wondering why she seemed so familiar.

    Totally love her in Harvest Villa. I keep thinking that she would’ve made a great Geum Jandi.

    • April 26, 2010 10:11 am

      Hi ditdut! There are a whole lot of netizens who think that she would have been the perfect Geum Jandi. She does have a cartoonish look about her, doesn’t she? So adorable.

      Solien – love that you love HV!

  2. solien permalink
    April 26, 2010 6:47 am

    I love her in HV sooooooo adorable

  3. jay permalink
    April 26, 2010 10:37 pm

    She is another reason why Harvest Villa is a really hilarious and addicting drama 😀

  4. doozy permalink
    May 9, 2010 8:53 pm

    Thanks for the article, dw4p. Love her spunk in HV!

  5. May 27, 2011 1:11 am

    she’s my #1 idol.. because she’s very beautiful.. have you seen the movie creating destiny??? she’s very awesome in that movie… i love you idol kang byul….

  6. April 18, 2012 12:27 am

    Hai Kang Byul

    I love you

    NiyamS
    (Indian)

Trackbacks

  1. Healthiness For Life » SNSD Taeyeon – Byul (200 pounds beauty ost)

Leave a comment