Skip to content

You’ve Fallen for Me: Midterm Report

July 27, 2011

The re-teaming of Park Shin Hye and Jung Yong Hwa has been turning away heads in Korea. It’s seen dismal ratings (5-6%) and has netizens writing scathing comments about the drama. One recent review called all the characters an abomination, accused Lee Shin (Jung Yong Hwa) of being a stalker and Kyu Won (Park Shin Hye) a meddlesome ajumma for butting into Shin’s relationship. Way harsh I say! Readers of this blog may remember my You’re Beautiful obsession, so I probably have a soft spot for these 2 actors. But I’ve enjoyed the breezy feel of You’ve Fallen for Me. It’s not reinventing the wheel by any means but what else is new? Every other kdrama has characters falling into stalker-ish behavior and I believe the tenet of kdramaland is being in each other’s business.

I can understand what the netizens are saying. On a micro level, the characters can be annoying. It takes Shin 7 episodes to let go of his teacher crush and Kyu Won does become a bit of a nag. I guess it doesn’t bother me as much because I see the drama as a slice of campus life. Even though it seems like eons ago, I remember my college days and my heightened emotions, especially when I was in love (i.e. had a crush.)

More than a specific storyline or character, I’ve been drawn to the feel of the drama. I’m especially enjoying the colors and the set design. It just seems to fit. Doesn’t the promo remind you of Girls Generation in Gee? (I’ve always been drawn to the SNSD videos more than any of the other idol groups. They’re kitschy but fun.)

I have no idea where they’re filming but I love the sherbert wall colors and the artwork throughout – very appropriate for a performing arts school. Even the Stupid’s practice room is cool without trying too hard.

The campus itself is quite pretty – creating a nice backdrop to the drama. Shin (and now Kyu Won’s) coffee break roof deck is a nice touch. Didn’t we all have our favorite places on campus to people watch?

I’m also loving Shin’s [old] room – such a good job of accessorizing for a guitar playing college kid. I doubly like it that he doesn’t have band posters everywhere. It totally seems Shin-like. Also, I want that turquoise radio.

As a slice of life drama, what draws me in are the small moments. The small moments of joy, angst, soul-bearing, and elation. And at times, the drama captures this moments which I find refreshing. Lee Hyun Jin‘s soul-bearing moment as he sings “If I leave.” Kyu Won’s grandfather enjoying the ugly squash pancake left by his granddaughter. Her friends surrounding her with glee after she sings her heart out at the audition. Yoon Soo pushing Kyu Won how to do a split. These scenes makes me smile and makes me want to watch the next episode.

The drama reminds me a little of Triple (Min Hyo Rin, Lee Jung Jae). I know Triple wasn’t on anyone’s favorite list but I found it to me more enjoyable than most. They both have flaws but something in them just resonates with me. Now, if you really want to watch a fantastic slice of life drama, watch Taereung National Village.

Now for the 2 leads… I get so much of a You’re Beautiful vibe that it’s a little difficult to distinguish the two dramas. (I think it’s the music. Everytime I hear Park Shin Hye singing, I think of YB.) I don’t think Park Shin Hye is the most talented actress but I like her. She has a subtle touch. As for Jung Yong Hwa – he’s pretty stoic, isn’t he? I know it’s his character but he kinda looks the same in every screencap. But I like the two of them together. They have chemistry. (She actually has more chemistry with Song Chang Eui, but that’s because he can make chemistry with anyone.)

In the end, I knew I would keep watching the drama when I was presented with THIS. Seriously, when’s the last time you saw a good gayageum vs guitar battle?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. thundie permalink
    August 3, 2011 9:02 pm

    Now, if you really want to watch a fantastic slice of life drama, watch Taereung National Village.

    How much do I love you for writing that? A LOT. 😀

    I’m so behind; watched three episodes of You’ve Fallen for Me and a little of ep 4. But there’s something about the drama that’s just so endearing. Considering I’m not exactly in love with the drama yet, how did I blog thrice about it? Hmm… strange. 😆

    http://thundie.wordpress.com/tag/youve-fallen-for-me/

    • August 4, 2011 1:03 pm

      I know so awesome. I want me some Lee Min Ki!!

      I don’t really know what it is either but I find myself looking forward to the drama for some reason.

  2. wits permalink
    August 7, 2011 11:24 pm

    Same three! I do admit the drama has flaws, I particularly didn’t like episode 6 where Kyu Won was stalking Shin all over town and basically making a doormat of herself. Skipped most of that with the ever reliable ff button. Overall though, I like the lighthearted feel of the show. The cinematography is adept, the music is excellent and most of all, I love Song Chang Eui. I just discovered this guy here and now I’d like to see more of him. I think he’s very talented.

Leave a comment