Skip to content

Kim C says goodbye to 1n2d

May 12, 2010

I’m officially sad. Kim C has filmed his final trip with the team, airing on 5/23 & 30. The news has totally taken me by surprise as I had no idea that Kim C was even contemplating a departure. But he’s apparently been thinking about leaving the show since last December and had thought about making the Antarctica trip his last.

As the most pensive member, his actions and words packed a big punch. One of my favorite memories of Kim C is when he made scrambled eggs and coffee (in Macgyvered aluminum foil mugs) for the team and staff on a cold rainy morning. His love for his brothers was so evident in his small gesture and I even learned how to drink coffee without a cup. I also love that he knows so little about pop culture – from his fear of Deux’ famous dance while playing beach volleyball to his ignorance of Sandara Park’s hairstyle from 2NE1.

It’s an understatement to say that Kim C will be sorely missed. Even though it’s sad to see him go, I’m happy to hear that it’s to further his music career – which is definitely my favorite out of all the singers on 1n2d. I adore his latest album and look forward to hearing what’s to come. Below the jump is a translation of an April (pre-departure) interview with Kim C where he talks a little about his new album and the life of variety shows.

With that said, PD Na has confirmed that they will not be looking for a new member and will go back to the 6-men format. This now means that we’ll officially have a new OB vs YB configuration with Eun Ji Won now married and an OLD BOY!

Below is a (truncated) interview with IS Plus’ Jung Ji Won and Yang Ji Won.

Q: Your popularity has grown quite a bit after your involvement in variety programs. What’s been the biggest change?

It’s the fame. 8 year old kids to 80 year old grandmothers know who I am. I feel like I can’t get any more famous that I am now. It’s nice to know that so many take interest in me, since I live off of feedback from the viewers. Going forward, I want to be a person of influence. A person who can have a ripple effect on others.

Q: You had a guerrilla concert at Seoul Insadong a little while ago.

More than a guerrilla, it was a showcase concert. It was done as a surprise. I knew that there would be a lot of people at Insadong on a weekend and performed a showcase. Surprisingly, there were a lot of people who didn’t know that I was a musician.

Q: I heard there were more than 100 people in the crowd.

I was really happy. As I saw the packed crowd, I thought to myself, “Going into music was the right choice.”

Q: The music video leads are Kim Tae Woo and Bae Doo Na.

I had the two of them in mind as I was writing the song. I worked up the courage to ask the director and was able to see my vision accomplished.

Q: How do you feel about taking the stage for the first time?

It takes a lot of charm to be on stage. For anyone who wants to be an actor, I would recommend trying the stage first. They say that the fundamentals of acting is on stage. Even though it’s my first time, I didn’t want the viewers to think that I was training on stage. I want to look complete when I take the stage.

Q: Why did you decide to leave the ;Invincible Baseball Team’?

I just thought it was time. Doing 2 weekend variety programs with 1n2d was difficult.

Q: You were determined to start your acting career.

It’s due to the role. Variety doesn’t happen according to your will. If they ask you to run, you run. Tell you to sleep, you sleep. But acting isn’t based on someone telling you to do something. It makes you want to succeed on your own behalf. The comparison is appropriate, no?

Q: If you had to rank the variety strength of the 1n2d members?

No matter how you look at it, I’m #7. I get surprised every time I see the others while shooting. Because the rest of them are such a talented bunch that it’s a miracle for me to be even included in the same breath as them.

Q: Are you being humble or lacking in confidence?

If there were 7 members like me on 1n2d, what would happen? Thankfully, there are other members and staff.

Q: You’ve moved viewers with your thoughtful attitude on 1n2d.

That’s just how I’ve been, not bragging. If someone is smoking next to me, I need to get them an ashtray even if I’m not smoking. That makes me comfortable. It isn’t to be thoughtful per se, it just comes automatically.

Q: Then how does Kim C bring laughter to 1n2d?

Even when I was dressing up as Sandara Park, I actually didn’t know who she or 2NE1 was. As I was changing, I wondered what kind of reaction it would have. It’s things like this that make people laugh, no?

Q: Name the one 1n2d member who gives you the most support.

It’s Ho Dong hyung. He seems wild and rough on the outside, but he gives a lot of advice and really cares for the staff. He’s the type to watch over you from the sidelines. His most frequent words to me are, “It’s OK for you to remain silent.”

Q: What’s your condition like after sleeping outdoors on 1n2d?

My body’s a little weak but it happens every other week so it’s OK. I’m still young. But I don’t usually meet with the other members. We don’t travel in the same circles and I spend so much time with them while shooting that I have no desire to see them once it’s over. (Laughter) Even when we part, we don’t say goodbye. (Laughter)

Q: The sketch that MC Mong drew is being turned into a picture.

I think Mong’s farts are going to be news from now on. Mong’s influence is far reaching. (Laughter) I saw the sketch and he did a good job.

Q: Let me ask how you see yourself. Do you see yourself as a musician? Or as a variety personality?

It doesn’t matter. There was a time when I was upset because I wasn’t asked any questions about music. But I realized that I don’t need to worry about it. Whatever the image, it’s all still me. I don’t need to force people to see me in a certain way. Just because someone doesn’t know my music, it doesn’t mean their lives are in trouble.

Q: You recently tweeted about your thoughts on singling out variety show to cancel after to the naval fleet accidents.

I was just pointing out the pack mentality. I know that the people involved are suffering and in pain, but the world still moves on. All of Korea was in hysteria during the 2002 World Cup but there are people in the country who doesn’t like soccer. I didn’t like that those who didn’t like soccer were treated as bad people. I wish people were recognized for their differences. It’s possible for people not to know.

Q: Since twitter is written by the individual, do you think it can be used in news articles?

That’s not very professional. Even if it’s difficult, shouldn’t a reporter make sure to meet with the individual?

Q: You don’t think that tweets should be quoted?

Tweets can be written out of a grumbling heart and is accepted as such. Isn’t it weird to use that as news? It’s not very fun. Even after a real interview, one thing quickly leads to 1.5 or 2 things. It’s nice since twitter is my own words but I don’t think its necessary to use them for news.

Q: What’s been the most difficult living as a musician?

There isn’t much respect for artists. Things have gotten much better recently but it’s still lacking. People expect to receive comfort from an artist’s work but there isn’t much regard for the artist himself.

Q: Can you be a little more specific?

There aren’t very many people who can survive on being part of a band.

Q: Have you had 2nd jobs also?

I’m really bad at working. I can’t really do hard work and I’m the lazy type to just sit around. I worked at a rice wine store for 3 years, not as a server, but playing the guitar.

Q: If you were to grade yourself as a musician?

I don’t think it could be easily dismissed. Since I really work hard at putting together my music, I don’t think it’s something that people can listen to and pass off as garbage. I really agonize over my work.

Q: When you’re working hard on your music projects, don’t you get annoyed by the variety shows?

It’s not annoying. I’m resigned to the fact that it must happen. It’s really frustrating when I can’t come up with the lyrics. But what can I do? I have to keep thinking about it.

Q: Are you planning on becoming a full-fledged actor?

I think there’s something wrong with the question. I’m giving it my all for this stage play. If this isn’t full-fledged, what is it? I’m really giving it my all.

Via Osen, IS Plus

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kukilas permalink
    May 12, 2010 10:54 pm

    Thanks for sharing this interview.

    I have been sad too since the rumors started spreading with the BTS pictures from the shoot. Plus, his tweet about goodbye was the first sign. All of the 1N2D fan community is pretty sad right now, and we will sorely miss Master Kim C. Who else will be able to experience the summer and winter camps, as they seem to be designed just for him? ^^ I really can not imagine how the shows will be without him. 😦

    We, from the 1N2D international forum, plan to make him a trending topic on twitter on Sunday, to show our support, during the time that 1N2D airs. We will be tweeting #KimC1N2D4ever at that time. If you will be awake at that time, hope you can join the activity. 🙂

  2. im_amot permalink
    May 13, 2010 12:35 am

    Thanks a lot for sharing this ..

    mama of 1N2D has gone, who will take care of tehchildren .. huhu

    anyway, good luck to Kim C the nice and warm hearted person .. we will always wish you the best !!!

  3. ditdut permalink
    May 14, 2010 1:39 pm

    I gotta say, I laughed so hard when he said ‘Mong’s farts would probably be on the news’ lmao. It’s the EXACT same thing my grandpa always says about celebrities news. From what they eat to what they shit are all being announced to the world, haha.

    Thank you so much for sharing this interview. I remember that he said before he wanted to be recognized as a musician, but I’m glad that now he’s taking any interest in him as a positive matter, despite the fact that most people really still don’t know he makes (great) music. And I like how he pretty much says it like it is. He says his variety strenght as the lowest, but he also recognizes the effort he’s made in his music and believes in its quality.

    Last, I’m surprised that he says Kang Hodong as his strength in 1n2d. To be honest, I’ve always thought they are awkward with each other. They’re apart for only 1 year, but it feels like 10, somehow. I’m glad to see the OldBoys are bonding.

Trackbacks

  1. Anonymous
  2. K-indie and Expressions of Korean Identity « caseybradshaw13

Leave a comment